VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #121  
Old 12-30-2020, 05:39 PM
Av8rRob's Avatar
Av8rRob Av8rRob is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rescue, CA. KROB
Posts: 365
Default

Heres my Aerotronics panel.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DEEFC40C-438C-44F2-9E68-C62B5B1A07D6.jpg
Views:	465
Size:	315.4 KB
ID:	6398  
__________________
Rob Lasater
Rv-14 flying baby, yeah.
Paid Dec 2020
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 01-19-2021, 08:24 PM
jerry sparks jerry sparks is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 32
Default glass panel RV14A N448WP

All Dynon panel with wiring help from Stein. Fortunately I have some great friends at KDVT that give me advice to get it right. The autopilot is an amazing tool that fly's the plane much better than I ever could
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1404.jpg
Views:	458
Size:	505.8 KB
ID:	7179  
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 01-20-2021, 07:46 PM
stigaro stigaro is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerry sparks View Post
All Dynon panel with wiring help from Stein. Fortunately I have some great friends at KDVT that give me advice to get it right. The autopilot is an amazing tool that fly's the plane much better than I ever could
Very nice, but I'm curious about the 23 kt difference in groundspeed between the Dynon and ForeFlight. Calibration error?
__________________
RV-14A Empennage - 75% complete
2021 Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 01-20-2021, 10:55 PM
SPX SPX is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: San Diego
Posts: 489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stigaro View Post
Very nice, but I'm curious about the 23 kt difference in groundspeed between the Dynon and ForeFlight. Calibration error?

ASI is MPH, ForeFlight is knots.
__________________
Paid, Jan 2021
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 01-21-2021, 01:46 AM
Arablenz Arablenz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Island ,New Zealand
Posts: 79
Default

Jerry, where have you managed to get the iPad holder from that swivels but lays flat as well? Nice panel.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 01-21-2021, 07:53 AM
BoydBirchler BoydBirchler is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 58
Default

I see several panels without a magnetic compass. Is an unpowered magnetic compass no longer required?
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 01-21-2021, 08:33 AM
stigaro stigaro is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPX View Post
ASI is MPH, ForeFlight is knots.
Thank you. I should have noticed that.
__________________
RV-14A Empennage - 75% complete
2021 Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 01-21-2021, 08:55 AM
MED MED is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoydBirchler View Post
I see several panels without a magnetic compass. Is an unpowered magnetic compass no longer required?
A magnetic compass is required in Canada, as I understand, but not in the US.
__________________
MED
140236
N435MD
Miss March 2020
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 01-21-2021, 09:40 AM
Roo747's Avatar
Roo747 Roo747 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Flesherton, ON
Posts: 35
Default EFIS compass

Hello all,

I received this from the MDRA a couple of years ago when building my RV8.

"EFIS compass is equivalent to a wet compass. However it must be supplied by an alternate power supply in case of an electric power failure. Most EFIS suppliers come with it or can be ordered with standby power. "

I finished my 8 without a whiskey compass and still meet the CAR's requirements.

Cheers

Andrew
__________________
RV8 Showplanes (although not a showplane)
IO-375-M1S with Whirlwind 74RV
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 01-21-2021, 09:31 PM
jerry sparks jerry sparks is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 32
Default ipad mount

Ram mount from aircraft spruce with a 6 inch extension. I also have a 2 and 4 inch extension. Allows me to adjust so that I get less glare. I used a ball mount for the panel and also for the back of the ipad holder. Jerry
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.