What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

SteinAir panel value

nohoflyer

Well Known Member
Patron
I recently got two quotes.

One from Dynon for my desired instruments which was around 30k.

One from stein for a similar package but now this included the wiring and panel.

The Stein on was about 9-10k more expensive.

I get the value of the wiring but for that kind of money I am imagining doing the work myself. I have no background in wiring so I’m a bit intimidated. Things like CBs and busses (I know what they are) are complete mysteries for an install.

Is it worth just paying the extra money and getting a plug and play system?

You might take a look at an Quick Panel from Advanced Flight Systems, I have installed them in my RV-7 and Javron Super Cub. Probably as close to plug and play as it gets. Great folks to deal with!

Depends

Stein has done two panels for me and if I ever build another plane, they will do the panel for it as well.

You will get answers (soon I assume) that say wiring a panel is easy - so do it yourself. It is if you know what you are doing. Same with painting, fiberglass, rebuilding an engine, etc.

Most of us “probably” can do it, but ask yourself if you want to. I chose to build and do the things that I was sure I could.

Support after the sale is sometimes (I think frequently) needed and there is nobody better than the team at SteinAir.

Go fly a couple of “green slips” (or whatever they are called at your airline) and that will pay for the panel ;)

One from stein for a similar package but now this included the wiring and panel.

I get the value of the wiring but for that kind of money I am imagining doing the work myself. I have no background in wiring so I’m a bit intimidated. Things like CBs and busses (I know what they are) are complete mysteries for an install.