VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1101  
Old 09-22-2020, 05:59 AM
Flavio Camelier Flavio Camelier is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulvS View Post
Nice panel! But what does the BOMBA switch do?
just to make sure... Bomba=Pump
__________________
Flavio
RV-7A driver
RV-10 sold
Instagram: @rv7pilot_inRio

Last edited by Flavio Camelier : 09-22-2020 at 06:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #1102  
Old 09-24-2020, 05:02 AM
griffg griffg is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 39
Default Day VFR panel

I thought I would show you my panel which is fully wired up and installed but I haven't applied power to it yet or programmed the components. Plus I still need to get some decals for some of the switches.

The system comprises 2 by AF-5500, GMA240, 2 by GTR200, SV-GPS-2020, SV-261 transponder with ADS-B out, SV-ADSB-472 ADS-B in which are all being powered through a Vertical Power Sport plus a TCW 6 Amp backup battery for the EFIS'. Plus there is an Artex ELT 345, CO Guardian, GT50 clock/G-Meter on the panel plus a Dynon D3 and my Ipad mounted in ram mounts.

https://flic.kr/p/2jKGZPV

Cheers,
__________________
Gordon Griffin
RV-7A under construction
VH-NAK
IO-360-M1B
Catto 3 blade prop
Reply With Quote
  #1103  
Old 10-24-2020, 03:57 PM
KiloFoxtrot's Avatar
KiloFoxtrot KiloFoxtrot is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 58
Default

There are a lot of nice panels being installed in RV7 today and I'm planning on Garmin for my panel. What I want to do is keep the standard panel that Vans includes in the RV7 kit and install an IFR panel with the following items. Some avionics shops are telling me to pull out the Vans panel and install one that has more height.

Can anyone tell me if ALL these items will fit my standard panel.

Dual 10" G3X
G5
GTN 650
Garmin Autopilot 307
Garmin Audio panel 345
Garmin comm panel mounted.

Will there be enough room for switches, breakers, etc?
Reply With Quote
  #1104  
Old 10-24-2020, 05:56 PM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KiloFoxtrot View Post
There are a lot of nice panels being installed in RV7 today and I'm planning on Garmin for my panel. What I want to do is keep the standard panel that Vans includes in the RV7 kit and install an IFR panel with the following items. Some avionics shops are telling me to pull out the Vans panel and install one that has more height.

Can anyone tell me if ALL these items will fit my standard panel.

Dual 10" G3X
G5
GTN 650
Garmin Autopilot 307
Garmin Audio panel 345
Garmin comm panel mounted.

Will there be enough room for switches, breakers, etc?
RV7 Center stack in standard height panel.



Put it in this standard height panel:

__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1900+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #1105  
Old 10-25-2020, 09:07 PM
KiloFoxtrot's Avatar
KiloFoxtrot KiloFoxtrot is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 58
Default

Thank You Walt. Very much appreciated.

Everything fits better than I expected. I better start planning. Any comments you can give on the Autopilot head being on top of stack vs on bottom near controls. I have seen it both places and can't figure out which is best.
Reply With Quote
  #1106  
Old 10-26-2020, 05:35 AM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KiloFoxtrot View Post
Thank You Walt. Very much appreciated.

Everything fits better than I expected. I better start planning. Any comments you can give on the Autopilot head being on top of stack vs on bottom near controls. I have seen it both places and can't figure out which is best.
I like not having to look down, it's closer to being where my vision is usually focused which is PFD or outside. Jets/Turboprops all put them up high so it standard with the 'big boys'. Depth is also limited up at the top of stack so that helps also.
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1900+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #1107  
Old 11-08-2020, 08:54 AM
vtails12 vtails12 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: WA/OR
Posts: 12
Default Panel Photo's

Good day all,

I have attached 3 photo's of my panel after a retro from steam gauges/MX20 to the Dynon HDX system in my Lancair Super ES.
The ease of installation and Dynon's Plug & Play system makes installs and removal so much easier than any other manufacture I have used.

I have installed and used both Garmin and Dynon in the past and in my opinion for price, quality, reliability and especially customer service Dynon has proven themselves to be the best by far.

If considering Dynon, PM me I can provide you a contact for the lowest possible Dynon prices known.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200303_124133.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	241.3 KB
ID:	4447  Click image for larger version

Name:	20200303_124307.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	246.6 KB
ID:	4448  Click image for larger version

Name:	20200303_124300.jpg
Views:	238
Size:	351.0 KB
ID:	4449  
Reply With Quote
  #1108  
Old 12-30-2020, 11:39 AM
joew joew is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Litchfield, Ohio
Posts: 78
Default My RV7 panel

I still need to run wires, but here it is.
Dual 10 G3X
GTX 45R
GTR 20R
GDL 51
GTN650 rack only
GMC
245 audio panel
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	B813B3DB-EA35-400A-931E-B271E4072B1D.jpeg
Views:	253
Size:	120.9 KB
ID:	6389  Click image for larger version

Name:	54C2516C-06FC-4989-A9AC-6DE6C583F79C.jpeg
Views:	154
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	6390  
Reply With Quote
  #1109  
Old 01-02-2021, 07:33 PM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest
Posts: 1,380
Default What I found, help me if you know better

Quote:
Originally Posted by KiloFoxtrot View Post
There are a lot of nice panels being installed in RV7 today and I'm planning on Garmin for my panel. What I want to do is keep the standard panel that Vans includes in the RV7 kit and install an IFR panel with the following items. Some avionics shops are telling me to pull out the Vans panel and install one that has more height.

Can anyone tell me if ALL these items will fit my standard panel.

Dual 10" G3X
G5
GTN 650
Garmin Autopilot 307
Garmin Audio panel 345
Garmin comm panel mounted.

Will there be enough room for switches, breakers, etc?
What I found is that I cant get lighted rocker switches in the standard height panel. So I have resigned to using toggle and a glare shield light to illuminate the switches. If anyone knows a better way to light the switches, please help me out.
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2021, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
Tail 98% done
Wings 98% done
Fuselage Kit 98% done
Finishing Kit 35% canopy done for now
Electrical 65% in work
Firewall Forward 5% in work
Fiberglass 0%, thought i was building in metal?
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #1110  
Old 02-13-2021, 02:04 PM
JeremyL JeremyL is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Maurertown,Virginia
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanB View Post
Dan,

Have only hangar flown mine, but like this kind of placement.

����������������������..... this is almost exactly the panel I am going for.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:01 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.