What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Notch in factory final sized holes?

lampwins

Patron
Hi all,

I am just getting started on my -10 vertical stab and I am noticing what appear to be tooling marks on the #40 factory final sized holes of the many of the parts. On most of the holes I see a black burn mark. On 1/3 to 1/2 of those holes, near the burn mark, I see and and even feel a notch cut on the side of the hole. My concern is when dimpling, that the notch will further blow out and crack. On the thicker stock parts like the rear spar, I only see the burn mark, without a notch, so it is only the thinner parts, mostly the tabs of the ribs. Please find attached photos from VS-1013 and VS-1015. I have confirmed that normal deburring nor reaming #40 do anything for the notch because it is beyond the #40 diameter and is flush to the surface.

This threw my technical advisor for a loop, however neither of us have first hand experience with the new -10 kits which are final sized. On his advice I reached out to Vans with these same pictures and this is the engineering team's response in its entirety:

"The parts are fine to use as long as the holes that are going to be dimpled do not crack when dimpled. If they do, then we will provide a replacement part at no cost to the builder."

I can follow the reasoning, but honestly it does not give me the warm and fuzzies. Obviously a cracked dimple can be spotted, but I am very worried about borderline cracks that become problems later, or simply that the notch becomes a stress point.

Is this normal, have folks seen this before? What would you do?

-John

Attachments

• IMG_3264.jpg
    IMG_3264.jpg
    156.5 KB · Views: 524
  • IMG_3266.jpg
    IMG_3266.jpg
    226.9 KB · Views: 568
  • IMG_3265.jpg
    IMG_3265.jpg
    234.9 KB · Views: 436
  • 69275071177__DDE1A14E-4857-4327-813E-C414C9195965.jpg