What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

High / Erratic EGT on Cylinder #4 (IO 320)

jj13

I need help on this one. This started about 2 months ago. My number 4 Cylinder's EGT started ruining about 150 deg. higher lean of peek than normal in an oscillating manner. See data chart.

What I've done;
Replace EGT prob
Replaced both spark plugs
Replaced both ign wires
Switch injector with Cylinder #2

The engine runs perfectly smooth. Max speed has not changed.
Climb out is normal for all 4 EGT temperatures. This only happens lean of peek.

But at startup the #4 EGT is about half (500 deg) vs (1000 deg) on the other three. At runup #4 catches up with the other three.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

N1354J EGT N4 Issue.jpg

I'm not an expert on engine by any means, but I can reference what Mike Busch recommends in his books. I believe this information is also in several online articles and videos as well. There are a handful of tests that can be done to narrow down what to look at:
- Ignition Stress Test (in-flight LOP mag check)
- Mixture Distribution Test (GAMI lean test)
- Induction Leak Test

Mike also has a "SavvyAnalysis Flight Test Profile" that's outlined on his website. Some of it duplicates the first three tests referenced.

I'll be interested in what you find, so please keep us posted.

I would verify that #4 really is #4. I chased a problem on a friends plane for months, only to discover that the original builder had the probes the wrong spots.. I had to de-pin the EMS plug and put them in the right spots. Turned out, the problem probe was in a neighboring cylinder.