What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

320 v 360 v 390

mking275

I'm New Here
First time buyer looking for advice.

I'm looking at 3 RV-8's, each with different engines. My impression is the 180hp O360 is the 'standard' model (as much as there can be such a thing among Vans). I get that the 160hp O320 is going to burn less fuel, and the 215 hp O390 is going to climb faster.

I'm wondering if there are appreciable maintencence/cost of ownership differences beyond the fuel burn. Hows the W&B envelope and useful load work out?

Also wondering about the O390 and the 200kt Vne. Im an aerospace engineer by training, so have some understanding of the engineering limits. What I'm wondering is practically speaking how close to 200kts do other RV-8 pilots fly.

Thanks in advance,
Matt KIng

Can’t go wrong with the 360. I’d pass on the 320 but that’s a personal choice. The 390 is heavier so be sure you are comfortable with your mission set for loading the plane. With an aluminum constant speed some have issues with even a 360 angle valve. I cruise with a fixed pitch at 75% power 8k ish at 165 true, I’m never near Vne unless doing something aerobatics wise, or climbing super high to service ceiling. Then the Vne starts reducing as you already know.

The RV8 was designed for the 0320. The heavier the engine and prop get the heavier the pitch control forces get. It’s just so much more fun with the CG in the middle. I find the 180hp with a CS prop to be outrageously powerful (It does 0-60MPH in 4 seconds solo) but haven’t flown many planes.

Last edited:
Prop makes a big difference