- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Old 04-10-2021, 09:04 AM

Default Notorious Lycoming Hot Start

So I was looking at a solar powered fan for camping. And I thought, just what if.
What if after landing this was rigged to blow fresh air into the cowling through the oil door on top of the cowling. Land open the oil door, fan goes on with suction cups, starts blowing cooler air down to the top of the engine.

Is this a concept or just an attempt to avoid the unavoidable.
Old 04-10-2021, 09:33 AM

I think you'd want the fan to suck air out, not blow air in. With that said, I do typically open my oil door to let the heat out. It's hot where I live and I try to avoid vapor lock. Luckily haven't had any issues yet.

Born to fly, forced to work
Old 04-10-2021, 10:00 AM

Ive been flying out of the pit of h€ll for 25 years now - almost exclusively with Bendix FI. I can probably count on one hand the times I could not get it to start on the first try. Just last weekend I landed for gas at MHV and there was a Slingsby sitting in the pit, grinding away at the starter trying to get the fire lit. (This is the same model (T-3 Firefly) that the Air Force cut up and scrapped because of starting and engine stoppage issues.) After several attempts, he gave up and pushed out of the way so I could fuel. I watched many more unsucessful attempts to start as I fueled the Rocket, and by the time I hung up the hose and ground clamp, he was on the phone begging for help. I walked over and asked what his POH hot start technique was (I already knew it was to flood the engine and pray, because I could see the fuel vapors pouring out of the pipes as he was cranking), he confirmed my suspicion and I offered my standard hot start technique - essentially the "clear engine" procedure.

I told him:

No boost
Idle cutoff
Crank
Advance throttle slowly
As it comes alive, bring in mixture and retard throttle.