What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Why Cabin Floor Panel Fasteners not flush/removable?

RudiGreyling

Well Known Member
Hi Guys,

Busy with the center fuselage section and noticed 2 things on the plans:
1) The bolts that attach the floor panels is not flush..
2) The aft floor and baggage floor is attached with pop rivets, while the front floor is removable with platenuts installed..

Being a first time builder I want to know the following:
1) Why is the fasteners not flush, does it not interfere somehow with carpeting or something etc. It just seams more logical to keep everything smooth on the floor?
2) Why is it not all floors removable, seems it is a perfect place to store some electronic components like strobe boxes etc?

Can somebody please shed some light and maybe some photos?

Thanks
Rudi

Last edited:
Re: 2) removable floors

I made my baggage floors removable, and I think a lot of people do. It's added work, but my motivation was 1) I don't like having closed compartments that I can't inspect, and 2) it's a great place for strobe power supplies, etc. In my case, I just replaced the pop rivets with nut plates and screws. Yes, that's a lot of nut plates.

If yours is a QB like mine, you'll find a problem installing nut plates where the forward ends of the baggage floor ribs meet the bulkhead. Here's my solution:
http://www.kalinskyconsulting.com/rvproj/floorsncovers.htm

As for the seat floors, I kept them per plans. The forward ones are removable, which gives limited access to the bays under the aft floors as well. I wouldn't install equipment under the aft seat floors, but the access is good enough for inspection.

Something we're not exposed to very much on the RVs, at least not exposed to it by Van's (since I don't believe they use any of these), is a Tinnerman nut:

http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/hapages/tinnerman.php