What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Tip up skin Trimming

lr172

Well Known Member
First, thanks for the assistance with my canopy frame. I'm pretty happy with out it turned out.

I am near complete in fitting the canopy top skin, but had a couple of questions. First, what do most folks find to be a good overhang length over the instrument panel. I have no experience to work off of here.

Second, I am trying to decide how to trim the skin at the transition from the side frame. Where the plexi canopy will transition from running along the frame rail to running along the top skin. I have studied several pictures from build sites and they all appeared a bit different. No guidance from the plans.

Thanks for the assistance.

Larry

I wrestled with what to do for a while, then began thinking about why to do it. I decided the objective was to trim the skin so as to allow a smooth transition of the plexiglas in that region. I even banged the skin a bit with a round nose picking (body) hammer. Some filing on the canopy frame was done too. Some have fractured the plexi in that area so pay attention to it when snugging the screws fastening the plexi to the side rail. A scrap strip of plexi helped with the fitting to see where the high spots were. Modeling clay helped too to identify pressure points.

I have not completed the fiberglassing yet as I am waiting until the forward skin is riveted. Currently, my overlap tab is still intact. It may be removed if it presents a problem to a smooth final shape. Jury is still out, at least for me on that. Many have just cut it off, but a good reason is needed first.

Happy building. The tip-up canopy is a challenging piece to master. Just don't give up.

I think most people leave the skin overhanging the panel by the stock amount.

I just put a edge gripping edging on it to prevent cuts in an accident.