What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Tick-Tick-Ticking Noise

rv7guy2

Hi there
Recently I've been hearing a "tick-tick-tick-ticking" noise on my radios while in flight. On the ground and during runup it's not there. While in the air, when I transmit I can hear the ticking noise while both transmitting and receiving, NOT while the frequency is silent. I'm using Dynon Radios for both comms with my Skyview system. The noise is not overwhelming but is annoying.
A friend suggested it may be a failing diode in the voltage regulator of my alternator. I'm running a Plane-Power alternator with a built in voltage regulator. I've been using it for over 5 years without an issue..probably eight years, I cannot remember, but it's been quite a while.
Could this failing diode theory be correct? Can it be repaired in an economical fashion? Or am I destined to get a new alternator sooner than later?
Thanks
Dave C
RV-7
C-GCPD

There are likely many causes - - - mine was a loose ( lightly tightened nut) p-lead on a mag found in Phase I. It could only be heard ticking in the radio at low RPM - taxi.

I would think a bad alternator internal diode with the engine at speed would generate a spike at something around 100 HZ. It would sound more like a buzz than a tic. I don’t know what a regulator diode would do

Last edited:
Dave,
Do you have a transponder and if so does it make any difference to the clicking if you turn it off?

Does it follow engine RPM? Is it tied to one ignition? Seems likely to be an ignition lead with some corrosion, or a bad plug. Turn off each ignition (preferably one at a time:eek:) and see if it is correlated to one ignition.

Hi there