What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Thinnest material for AD5 rivet

JMyers1

I am new to solid rivets. I am riveting a .040 part to a .025 part that are pre-drilled #20. I used some scrap and countersunk and back riveted them and the thinner .025 part seems to be buckling. I know my technique is not perfect but I've made a few attempts and none look great.

Is .025 just too small for this size rivet or am I doing something wrong here? I do have dimple dies, maybe I should have dimpled the thinner material (or both)?

Attachments

• IMG_6169.jpeg
    IMG_6169.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 97
  • IMG_6170.jpeg
    IMG_6170.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 92
  • IMG_6168.jpeg
    IMG_6168.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 91
Last edited:
When installing flush rivets in thin sheet, you always dimple counter sink, all the layers that are common to the rivet.
So basically, the dimple for the rivet head should be nesting in the dimple of the other sheet it’s being attached to.
It is also best practice to form the shop head on the thicker material if they’re not the same thickness, and if there’s no other reason to prevent you from doing so.

When installing flush rivets in thin sheet, you always dimple counter sink, all the layers that are common to the rivet.
So basically, the dimple for the rivet head should be nesting in the dimple of the other sheet it’s being attached to.
It is also best practice to form the shop head on the thicker material if they’re not the same thickness, and if there’s no other reason to prevent you from doing so.