What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Sunshades

asw20c

Well Known Member
Just curious what folks are using for sunshades. I see via google search that Koger makes sunshades. Any feedback on these? Are there others? Likes? Dislikes?

Agree.

I have a Kroger and love mine. Simple design, easy install. The slot in the track doubles as a GoPro mount also!

I have an RV-8, with a tinted canopy, that I’ve been flying for 11+ years. I came close to buying a Koger sunshade but decided against it since I like the unobstructed view and wasn’t keen on attaching a permanent sunshade to the canopy. I have a folded piece of dark tinted window film that i can quickly apply to the canopy while in-flight. It rarely gets used.

FWIW, I too haven’t had good luck using the VAF search engine. I always use google to search this site. I.E. https://www.google.com/search?q=vansairforce.net+sunshade&rlz=1CDGOYI_enUS594US595&oq=vansairforce.net+sunshade&gs_lcrp=EgZjaHJvbWUyBggAEEUYOTIGCAEQRRg8MgcIAhAAGKIEMgcIAxAAGKIEMgcIBBAAGKIE0gEJMTUyMzZqMGo3qAIAsAIA&hl=en-US&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8#ip=1

In the airline world we love a shade called “kinder fluf” on Amazon. Buy a few dark ones then use a pair of metal snips or equivalent to cut and remove the wire. Fold em up when not in use to preserve the stick.

Koger +1

Just curious what folks are using for sunshades. I see via google search that Koger makes sunshades. Any feedback on these? Are there others? Likes? Dislikes?

Love my Koger shade. Very easy to pull back and you’ll never notice it. Need in the 14. I bought one of the first dark tinted canopies from Vans and even in Ohio the shade is needed.

I have a Koger sunshade on my RV 9A slider. It's OK. A bit flimsy, making it dicey to taxi on a hot day with the canopy slid back. OTOH, Jet Shades, while nice, are very expensive.

I searched Kroger and got 28 hits using the "search" on the above bar.