What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Student needs information

th8270s

I'm New Here
Hello folks,

I am an aerospace student from Germany. In the moment I am working on my bachelor thesis, which describes the flight testing program, referred to the performance requirements, for a RV-7 to get an amateur built aircraft certification. This also include the creation of the performance chapter of the POH.I am planning to start my test program in 10 days. Because of that I need some information and references from experienced RV-7 builders and flyers.

My RV-7 has:
a Mattituck TMX O-360 engine(180BHP/132KW)
a Prince Aircraft 68/78 (diameter/pitch) fixed pitch propeller (2 blades)
MTOW 1800 lbs

If you have a similar RV-7 I would totally appreciate it if you send me an e-mail with the following information:

1. Important Speeds in kts (calibrated airspeed CAS)
VS0 (stalling speed or the minimum steady flight speed obtained in a landing configuration):
__________ CAS in kts
VS1 (stalling speed or the minimum steady flight speed obtained in a specific configuration):
__________CAS in kts
VX (speed for best angle of climb):
__________CAS in kts
Vy (speed for best rate of climb):
__________CAS in kts
VR (rotation speed):
__________CAS in kts
Vbest Glide Range ( speed for best glide which gives you the best rang; best angle for descent):
__________CAS in kts
Vbest Glide Endurance (speed for best glide which gives you the best endurance; minimum rate of descent):
__________CAS in kts

Please let me know if your speeds are already reduced to Mean Sea Level and MTOW (like in the ?Flight Test Guide For Certification of FAR-23 Aeroplanes Part2 Appendix-1&2&3? prescribed).

2. Additional information
engine-type: _______________________________________________________________
engine manufacturer: _______________________________________________________________