What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Strange Oil Pressure readings

twilson47

I'm New Here
I am a non builder owner of an RV-7 is an O360 A1A with fuel injection added after (so now an IO360 I suppose) and a constant speed prop. On the Skyview my oil pressure gauge has 2 "green ranges" with a red line at about 90 but green above that seems to top about 120psi. I can't seem to find any data on high oil pressure of an indicator with two "green" areas of pressure. I've been seeing 115 PSI which is in the green band but from what I have read seems high?

My question is really three:
1. Is that oil pressure normal/okay for my engine?
2. Is the indicator with two split green arcs normal?
3. If the oil pressure is not okay, what are the normal remedies to fix it? I have seen many low oil pressure posts but can't seem to find anything for high pressure.

attachment.php

Attachments

• VideoCapture_20230710-181859.jpg
    VideoCapture_20230710-181859.jpg
    605.1 KB · Views: 212
Looks like the Skyview was not set up correct for oil pressure. The entire top should be red. High oil pressure never gets better as it increases......:eek:

LYC Spec Sheet

The ranges and limits are set based on the LYC specifications.

Here is the excerpt from the M1B Specifications Document.

"1. Oil Pressure.
Minimum Idling -25 pounds per square inch
Normal-55 to 95 pounds per square inch
Starting , Warm- up , Taxi and Take-off (Maximum) -115 pounds per square inch

2. Oil Temperature. The maximum permissible oil temperature is 245F. Desire operating-temperature is 180F."

I have my red warning at 30, low yellow 30-50, green 50-100. Red is above 100. If the temp is above 100F (at start) then the 100 psi+ warning is seldom seen