What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Starting RV-7 I Need advice

Adam W

Well Known Member
ive taken the plunge, found an untouched empenage kit for an RV7. Im new to it all
I want to start but not before im prepared
Tools? do i need that whole list on the Vans site?
Do i need the pneumatic squeezer.
priming? ive been told on everything ive been told only non alclad parts
some say zinc chromate and some say self etching spray can
i live in southern ontario

im assuming the detail in the book and drawings i have yet to read will answer alot of my how to rivet questions
any advice would be appreciated

Welcome aboard!
Enjoy the journey.
I love the pneumatic squeezer, but many builders just use a hand squeezer.
If you've never riveted (gun and bucking bar) before, practice on scrap. Or get Vans toolbox practice kit.
Priming is a hotly debated topic. Some prime everything, some nothing. Read the opinions in the 'primer wars' section, form your own opinion.

Hi Adam, here's my opinion to get started:

Get one of the RV builder's tool kits available from Cleaveland Aircraft tool (complete airframe package), Aircraft Spruce, Brown Tools. I got mine from Avery but they're no longer operating.
Also essential is a pack of grey scotchbrite pads, maroon scotchbrite pads, a roll of emery tape, bandsaw with blades suitable for aluminium plate, air compressor of course and a bench grinder with linishing wheel and belt attachment. Get a blue scotchbrite belt for the linisher as well as sanding belts in say 100 and 400 grit. I find the scotchbrite belt far better in general than the scotchbrite wheel on the bench grinder.
A 90? die grinder with roloc wheel for sanding discs and scotchbrite discs (blue) is a tool that I use constantly for deburring, dressing and finishing off parts.