What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV6 Fuel Shutoff

grumman41

I’m new to the RV6 and there is a lot of things to take in at once. My fuel select-shutoff valve has two off positions. Is this a “standard” valve for the 6? I don’t like the two off positions and it also doesn’t have a lockout for off.

What does your fuel selector look like, can you post a pic? "Standard" brass valve supplied by Vans and installed per plans has one "off" position and "on" for left and "on" for right positions. Valve passes through "off" when switching from left to right. The builder might have chosen to install it another way, that can happen.
There are alternative aftermarket valves e.g. by Andair that have positive action required to select off.

This is one of those topics that polarize people on this forum for some reason. There are thousands of RV's flying with the original brass valve. But I'm with Pete--I'm a fan of the Andair valve. It's very positive, clearly labeled, and as long as you don't pull up the safety detent knob, you can't accidentally rotate it through OFF.

When I was in the early stages of building, I talked to a guy at a fly-in that built an RV with the original valve. He crashed on the plane's maiden flight into a mobile home park because his leg bumped the valve to "off" when he stomped on the right rudder during take off. Granted, he was a healthy-sized guy, and that may or may not have contributed to the accident chain. And some people have told me there's no way that was possible. I just know what the guy told me and saw the pics of the wings all mangled up. Fortunately, nobody was hurt and he was able to rebuild the plane, but seeing his pics and hearing that story stuck with me.

You may have to make a few new pieces of tubing to hook up the valve. Get a fellow builder to help with that, as the fuel lines are kinda important.