What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-6A tail to RV-7?

N184DA

Well Known Member
Sponsor
A local RV6A owner asked me to help him swap out the Vertical Stabilizer & Rudder on his 6A, with new RV7A components.

I have 500+ hours on my RV4 which I built, and I am in the process of completing an RV9A. Unfortunately, I have no real experience with the handling qualities of the RV6/RV7.

I believe the owners intent is to improve stability, and attach the new vertical with a built-in offset so he can remove his somewhat large rudder trim tab.

Questions:
- What are the advantages/disadvantages to this modification?
- If he gives me the green light, are there any caveats that I should know prior to ordering replacement parts?

Thanks in advance,

I won't attempt to describe the handling changes one might expect. Will leave that to Mel and others who have spun the RV-6. But here is my understanding of some of what your friend is asking for.

The late RV-6 kits (~ year 2000) were delivered with the larger VS and counterbalanced rudder of the RV-8. This combination was tested in the RV-7 but was marginal so the RV-7 used the RV-9 components.

I have been working to improve my older bought-flying RV-6A. One area of improvement has been to go through all of the control surface alignments towards the goal of most efficient flight. A part of this led to discovery of misalignment of the whole empennage relative to the fuselage. The VS on the RV-6 was spec'd at zero offset. Mine may have been zero relative to the HS, but the whole empennage was skewed to the right giving the VS a built in right offset. Needless to say there was a large rudder trim tab. I built new attachment parts to correct the HS alignment and then went a step farther, and added approx. 1/4" left offset to the VS, removed the rudder trim tab, and the plane flies like a new plane, straight, faster, and more efficient.