What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-10 options

Hi folks

I'm a new builder with the kits on order. After a bit of reading I have realised that people are deleting or adding things to the kits, like parking brake etc. Is there a list anywhere of recommended/possible changes to the kits?

Thanks
G

Gareth

Good to see another Rv-10 project in the UK. One thing to keep in mind, here in the UK, is Mod’s with the LAA, repeat mods are straight forward, new ones can be time consuming. Most of mine were safety improvements. Like stainless steel heater boxes, plane around door latch, parking Brake and Beringer nose wheel.
It’s best to go onto the LAA site and look at what other mods have been previously approved.
Using the search function on this site will reveal many other mods people have done.

Good luck with the build,

Peter

Last edited:
Hi Gareth and welcome from another UK RV-10 builder. I bet you were on this forum to avoid the brits but you pick up 2 straight off.

As Pete says, what you can change in the UK is quite restricted compared to the US but here are a few suggestions:

The first list is things that are straight forward with the LAA because they are Vans options:
- Beringer nose wheel
- Parking brake
- OP52 Wing leading edge landing lights
- OP48 AHRS bracket (provides a very useful shelf behind the baggage bulkhead for mounting stuff)
- OP41 strobe mounting bracket (ditto)
- OP38 Electric aileron trim
- Andair fuel selector
There is also the trim cable anchor brackets where the LAA insist on a machined-from-billet version such as those made by IFlyRV10.

The next list contains things that have been approved by the LAA for other RV-10s, so repeat mods are easier:
- Planearound door locking system
- Heated pitot
- Airward tunnel access panel
- Andair fuel pump
- LiFePo battery

Things that require care because the LAA is cautious include: