What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-10 Cowling installation with Skybolts

bhoppe2

I should have made this decision a little earlier, but I just decided to install my stock cowling with Skybolts instead of the piano hinges.

I had an EAA Tech Counselor visit this week and he reminded me that people have had trouble with the bottom piano hinge breaking over time. He had built an RV-10 and had that problem. I say I should have made the decision to use Skybolts earlier because I have all the piano hinges riveted to the firewall and do not look forward to removing all those rivets...although at this point I have plenty of experience removing rivets.

I have the top and bottom cowling fitted to the firewall, but have not trimmed the side joint lines. One concern is that there is virtually no or little overlap to trim. Any tips on finishing the cowling fitting or installing the Skybolts would be appreciated.

Anyway, one benefit of my late decision is that Skybolt gave me a 20% discount on the complete package. I guess it must be a Pre-Sun N' Fun special.

I used skybolt fasteners on the 10 and both 8's I built however only on the top cowling. I use the piano hinge to part the cowlings and the virtical lower piano hinge at the firewall. For the bottom firwall I use three -8 nutplates on each side. I have never had a problem with cracking using this method.

My 2 cents

I have SkyBolts all around on my 7 with SJ Cowl.

You now have the option to only use the SB on the lower section of the cowl, or go all the way with the SB's.

There are several threads on fitting of the SB. I have a thread with one method and recently Robert Williams posted another method. Both methods can yield a very accurately located fastener.

Use the search function on here for thread with "Skybolt" in the search box.

Good luck with your selected path.

Did the same thing