What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Rebuild Brake Cylinder- Leaky one or both?

Beejer

Title kinda says it all. I got a Cleveland 10-30 master cylinder that leaks and is introducing air into the system. Found the rebuild kit on Spruce. Question is do I order two and rebuild both or wait for the good one to start leaking?

I did both…

After about 2700 hours my right master cylinder was leaking noticeably… Decided to do both while I was there as a general preventive maintenance task. Pretty easy decision when the kits are only $35 ;-)

Last edited:
If you are in there for the one, might as well do the other. Most cylinders are located where it's pretty awkward to get to and you would probably rather fight the battle once to get them out and back in. Doesn't take much more time to rebuild the second and bleed that brake over the first.

Well…

Those are all valid points. Also what I was afraid of. But you’re all right. While I’m crunched up down there I might as well grab both. Darn it. Thanks all!

Just did mine at 500 hrs. Left one was leaking so while under there I did the other one as chances are that it wasn't far behind.

I had one leaking about 24 or 25-years ago. I rebuilt it by replacing all the O-rings. Within one month, the other one was leaking and needed done so was back under panel doing it.

Now, anytime that one is leaking, I do all of them.

I had one leaking and have brakes for both seats of my Kitfox. I did them all. The first one took over an hour and the second about half an hour and the last two 15 minutes each. I'd do both. The parts were not that expensive.

Henry

I my pilot side brakes at about 1000 hours, now I'm developing a leak in the copilot side. Nothing lasts forever....

Do em both or you will be back in there doing it anyway a little while later.