What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

QB quality

Paul Story

I'm New Here
Hi,

After doing some reading about QBs I am a bit concerned. What has been your experience with the workmanship of your QB? I called Vans and they assured me that the quality is top notch. Since I am fairly inexperienced I figured that a QB would be better than I could do myself. Time is also a factor, but quality is the most important to me. Please advise.

Paul Story
N639PS (reserved)
waiting for 7A QB

Very good.

I think the quality of mine is better than I would do myself, not because I couldn't or don't care, but because this is my first build and there is a lot of virgin territory associated with it. For me to do better, I would have to re-do many parts (it would probably end up costing as much as the QB by that time anyway!)

The other thing you learn is that there is almost nothing that can't be fixed. If you find one or two things not to your liking, quality wise, there is nothing to stop you from pulling that piece out and fixing it right (granted, that can be harder in some areas than others), other than frustration for having to re-do something you paid for.

Bigger factors for considering QB vs. SB in my mind are primer desires, float vs. capacitance senders in the tanks, some tasks that are actually harder to do on the QB (i.e. tailwheel mount), and of course time vs. cost.

Overall, I'm quite impressed with the quality of my QB. Perfection may be too much to ask, but excellence seems to have been achieved.

QB Quality...

I wish my work on my empennage (which I did) was as good as the QB fuse and wings I have. My work is "adequate"; the work on the QB stuff is "excellent".

QB quality is excellent

I think it would be hard for most (not all) first time builders to match the quality of a QB.

Agreed......

Rick_A said: