What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Paint/priming part prep

wirejock

Well Known Member
Greg Baron posted this link in another thread. I encourage anyone painting or priming to watch. Most is about the powder coat process but the portions on cleaning are particularly fascinating. Thanks Greg.
http://youtu.be/x7onZGqrYyY

I am starting the painting of my interior and want the paint to stick so I performed some unscientific tests based on the video. I'm no scientist or engineer so take it for what it's worth.

I used several samples. Primed samples with SWP60G2, bare aluminum scuffed with maroon scotchbrite, bare untouched aluminum. I have quite a scrap pile.:eek:

First test was to dribble water with no treatment. All samples beaded up and ran off.
Second test was parts wiped with solvent. Lacquer thinner, Acetone, MEK. Acetone worked best but water still beaded up with all three.
Third test was parts cleaned with powdered cleaner, Ajax, per the video. Results were quite surprising. After drying, all parts wet thoroughly and water formed a film on the surface. Even the bare aluminum with no scuffing at all wet well. Same for the P60G2 sample.
Other parts were tested with Dawn and the product I've been using, AeroGreen 4110. Dawn was ok. 4110 was almost as good as Ajax but only on scuffed parts. Neither did much for bare aluminum.
I suspect the best process is a combination scuff/cleaning process with a good cleaner followed by a thorough rinse. Many of you use this method already. One bare sample cleaned with gray scotchbrite and Ajax was as good as the pre-scuffed part cleaned with Ajax so one step could be removed by combining the scuff and clean process.
The other issue is time. The best paint adherence will be within 2 hours of cleaning. I will test the parts tomorrow to see how time effects the drip test.