What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Paint Mask?

CessnaTPA

I'm getting close to painting my RV12 and would like to get some input on using a paint mask. Currently it's unassembled so it could be painted in peices.
I have zero experience painting but will have a buddy who is a auto painter helping. This will he his 1st plane and has limited experience with stripes.

Aerographics quoted me $900 for a paint mask for this paint scheme (will be doing something similar)
I'm not expecting a show winning paint job but do want it to look good.
Are paint masks money well spent or not really needed if you're willing to take the time and do it by hand?

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230414_091330_AOL.jpg
    Screenshot_20230414_091330_AOL.jpg
    67.7 KB · Views: 73
I used Aerographics masking for my paint job at the recommendation of my painter. Great to work with, no regrets at all!

Attachments

• Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    873.4 KB · Views: 112
  • Untitled 2.png
    Untitled 2.png
    876 KB · Views: 99
It is easy to screw up a paint job and end up causing you massive headaches.
And dollars in the end.
The layout is REAL critical. Your eye will catch any screw ups.
The paint mask scheme will help you keep it straight and better aligned than you can ever do by hand.
Well worth the money and it saves time also.
Art

+1 on the Mask.

It cost me $600 for the "fern" mask for my RV-6 however there was no way we could have masked this up evenly on both sides and achieved the same results. Stripes are certainly a little easier to mask than a complicated design but you can spend a lot of time getting it just right. Best to get the mask and make everyones life easier.

Nice paint scheme you have there for your -12. Looks smart.

Attachments

• 20220502_113012_resized.jpg
    20220502_113012_resized.jpg
    296.6 KB · Views: 125