What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Ordering tools....

YME

Well Known Member
Getting ready for my RV-12Is build. Three companies, Cleveland Aircraft Tools, Plane Tools, and Aircraft Spruce (offer tool kits for the RV-12.) edited. Is there a great difference in the quality of the tools, ie dimple dies, fluting tools, etc. I am leaning towards Aircraft Spruce as I have a discount available.

One item I will buy from Cleveland is the Main Squeeze - Model 22.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited:
I was a airline mechanic, did about everything, ran through all the shops. I do have a high end air drill (as small as possible) a really nice rivet gun with a feathering trigger and a small angle drill, 45 and 90 but hand air grinders I buy cheap Harbor Freight ones.
The high end stuff you can always sell without much loss after you're done with them.

Cleaveland for dimple dies.

Pneumatic squeezer instead of the Main Squeeze. The students I'm mentoring at a local high school for their RV-12iS have a pneumatic squeezer and love it.

Dave

Getting ready for my RV-12Is build. Three companies, Cleveland Aircraft Tools, Plane Tools, and Aircraft Spruce offer tool kits for the RV-12. Is there a great difference in the quality of the tools, ie dimple dies, fluting tools, etc. I am leaning towards Aircraft Spruce as I have a discount available.

One item I will buy from Cleveland is the Main Squeeze - Model 22.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks

Edited 4-20-23. Forgot to put in that they offered tool kit for the RV-12 and which company was the best

FWIW, my kit came from Plane Tools. Good value and no complaints, but I suspect you wouldn't go wrong with any of them. You will end up buying more stuff anyway.