What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Low-time pilot, new to EAB, looking for RV9s near Bozeman, MT

allPrimes

Hello all!

I'm a relatively low-time pilot (just over 200h) all in C172s based in Bozeman, MT. In my lurking here, I've seen a few folks here and there in SW Montana with RVs (one an RV6 with a wonderful paint job I see from time to time on the taxiway) and my fiance and I have decided that an RV9 would likely fit our mission: XCs to the coast for long weekends periodically, grass strips in the mountains, regional flights to see family, or just for fun. (Notably, the then-girlfriend is the one who pushed me to fulfill my childhood dream of having a pilot's license; we're getting married in a few weeks!)

I'm looking for folks nearby who might be willing to answer some questions about RV ownership and let us sit in their plane, and maybe even take us up (one at a time, of course!).

Because everyone will likely ask:

• not a builder, yet. That really does interest me, but I'm more likely to buy a flying RV as my entry into EAB rather than build first

• likely an RV9; gentleman's acrobatics sounds like it would be fun (with proper training) but the stability and landing speeds of the -9 make me think it's the one for us

• preferably a tail-dragger (I DO NOT have a TW endorsement, yet) but only because we have an interest in flying into some mild backcountry strips (Schaefer, Meadow Creek, etc) and camping/hiking/fishing from there

• I've reached out to the EAA Headwaters chapter in Three Folks but the material on their website is pretty minimal and could be out of date

If I don't generate a ton of responses here, I'll also reach out to each of the folks I've seen that seem like they're Bozeman (or near Bozeman; guy in Townsend, I'm looking at you!)

Happy Sunday and happy flying!

Steven

Last edited: