What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Looking for ideas on inlet boots for Plenum

lr172

Well Known Member
I am helping a new owner with some remediation on a 7A he just bought. THe PO built a plenum for it, but chose to put nothing between the inlets and the plenum. Not surprisingly, the CHTs get pretty high in the climb phase. Looking for a hopefully non-invasive way of making an insert and boot to address this. Doesn't need to be perfect, just effective. Plane is panted, so hope not to carve up the fiberglass.

Appreciate any ideas, as I have no experience with plenums.

Larry

Sam James includes a sheet of neoprene to make the boots. You can get 12"x12" sheets of 1/4" thick neoprene and glue on Amazon, or head to your local dive shop, buy a used wetsuit and cut the legs/sleeves off of it if you don't want the glue seam.

At least put Ducting from Ring to Plenum

Probably more than he wants to do but this worked well for me. Even if he just put the ducting from the back of the ring inlet into the plenum I believe it would be better. Do you have a picture?

Edit - Larry if he wants to come over to Mason or meet sometime to look at mine, let me know.

Attachments

• plenum (10).JPG
    plenum (10).JPG
    765.5 KB · Views: 46
  • plenum (11).JPG
    plenum (11).JPG
    852.1 KB · Views: 45
  • plenum2.jpg
    plenum2.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 73
Neoprene

I bought neoprene on Amazon. I have two strips about 3" wide with bra clips. It hasn't flown yet so I can't comment on performance.

Neoprene is the way to go. Don’t forget the neoprene cement. It holds the butt seam amazingly well.

One ohter suggestion - make the boots at least 3” long to provide for ~1” of separation between the plenum and inlet ring. Less than this and you will impart unnecessary stain on the boot, plenum and cowl. There is a lot of movement between the plenum and cowl.

Carl

Inlet gap