What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

IO-320-B1A engine considerations

CaptPausert

I ended up buying an IO-320-B1A engine core for my RV-9A build. You can tell I am a bit of a newbie to piston engines as I did not realize that the B1A was a dynafocal 2 mount and wasnt really paying attention to that when I bought it. thankfully the crankcase shop I took it to pointed it out and can modify it to a Dynafocal 1 mount.

For anyone that is running a B1A on their RV is there anything else I should consider when rebuilding it?

At some point someone had converted it from fuel injection to a carbureted engine and it came with both vertical and horizontal induction sumps. I am considering either using the flyEFII system32 fuel injection and ignition system or converting it back to fuel injection and using Emags. If I do either of those options I will not need the carb and Bendix mags it came with. Would I be better off selling them as is or having the carb and mags overhauled and then selling them?

Thanks

I ended up buying an IO-320-B1A engine core for my RV-9A build. You can tell I am a bit of a newbie to piston engines as I did not realize that the B1A was a dynafocal 2 mount and wasnt really paying attention to that when I bought it. thankfully the crankcase shop I took it to pointed it out and can modify it to a Dynafocal 1 mount.

For anyone that is running a B1A on their RV is there anything else I should consider when rebuilding it?