What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

I-K Technologies IK2000

Mel

Legacy Member
Mentor
I would like to get some feedback from anyone using the IK2000 or any of the I-K Technologies monitors. I am considering using them in my bi-plane because of VERY limited panel space.
Thanks, Mel...DAR

Mel,

I've been flying behind one for almost 3 years now and I can't say anything bad about it at all. In fact, I REALLY like it. Granted, it's not the big screen type engine monitor, but works EVERY bit as well. Since everything is there and is green when good, yellow and red when bad/almost bad, it's really intuitive.

Also, just to note that IK is now going to have an engine monitor that will talk to the Chelton EFIS's (we are putting one of their new AIM-4000's into a Chelton RV-10 panel in a couple weeks), so there will be even more goodies to be had.

All in all, you can't beat that engine monitor for it's price and functionality.

Just my 2 cents!

Cheers,
Stein.

Thanks Stein,
That's just the kind of information I was looking for. The rear panel on my bi-plane has only about 4" of depth to the back of the front seat. Any instruments longer will have to reside on the sides, without much room there.
This will be a local, "fun" type airplane so I don't need much in the way of engine monitor, but their new IK3000 fills the bill for both flight and engine instruments. If anyone out there has any negative comments, I would really like to hear them.
Mel...DAR

IK engine monitor

I went to a presentation by the head honcho of IK, and it was very good. He was funny, very smart, and seemed to really know his stuff. He made a very good impression on me. I've already got the GRT EIS 4000, which also seems to be a good system, but I'm not flying yet.

Why not to use IK-2000

It doesn't do EGT peak detection, that I can tell. That's one of the biggest reasons I steered clear of it.