What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Help me understand, SLSA, ELSA, EAB, Sport pilot, etc.

Blw2

Well Known Member
Does any of that even really matter for a PPL holder?

I'm a rusty pilot, daydreaming of retirement getting back into it with a retirement project
I'm PPL instrument rated
currently set-up under Basic Med but haven't flown in a couple years (and haven't been current/proficient for almost a couple decades
I don't know of any reasons that I couldn't get my class 3 medical...but I also don't know any reason why I would need it.

But I'm getting older and who knows what that'll bring
although anything that would ground me with a class 3 would also ground a sport pilot so I'm not sure that is even a variable.
BUT I've read some things that lead me to believe that older pilots lean towards LSA's for some reason.....

I'm Daydreaming mostly about either an RV-14 or an RV-12 (or maybe an RV-9?)
Mostly interested in cross country, me and hopefully my wife if I can get her to fly with me
Not sure if I'll ever really do the work to get instrument current, but I'd like to think I would

Trying to get up to speed on the options and I'm just not all that up to speed on all the different LSA and Sport Pilot options that have come up while I've been out of it.

For someone like me, instrument rated PPL, Basic Med
Would I be gaining anything really with an LSA? Are there any advantages or disadvantages with an LSA? of course other than lower operating costs, etc....

I think I understand that SLSA would not allow IFR, ever
so am I correct that my choice would be either
ELSA = RV-12 VFR only
EAB = RV-12 OR RV-14 OR RV-9 VFR and IFR

currently set-up under Basic Med but haven't flown in a couple years (and haven't been current/proficient for almost a couple decades
I don't know of any reasons that I couldn't get my class 3 medical...but I also don't know any reason why I would need it.