What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

G3X audio suddenly scratchy

Ed_Wischmeyer

Well Known Member
Last flight, everything was perfect.

Today's flight, the comm radio was perfect, but the audio alerts from the G3X were weak and scratchy.

I'm thinking a loose wire, hopefully at the G3X end that's easy to get to. If it's at the audio panel end, that means taking the stack apart to get at the connector.

Thoughts? Comments? Am I missing something?

Glad Murhpy's Law is showing up two weeks before departure instead of day before...

I'm not an electronics expert, and maybe one of those guys or a G3Xpert will chime in. But before taking the stack apart, maybe you can try something easier...

Do you have the schematic that says what those pin call-outs are on both ends? If you do, you can simply slide the audio panel out of the stack (should be just the one screw holding it in) and run continuity checks between the D-sub at the G3X PFD/MFD and the audio panel D-sub pins that are in the back of the stack. You'll need good eyes and a flashlight to read the numbers, but it can be done. Wiggle the harness around and see if the ohm reading varies. That may help pinpoint if it's just a loose wire or connection coming apart, and on which connector.

Check the grounds & shielding, too. It doesn't always make sense, but weak grounds can cause all kinds of gremlins.

run continuity checks between the D-sub at the G3X PFD/MFD and the audio panel D-sub pins that are in the back of the stack.

The D-sub at the audio panel is inaccessible unless the stack is taken apart. Bad installation by the "professional" shop that did it.

Thanks, though...

The D-sub at the audio panel is inaccessible unless the stack is taken apart. Bad installation by the "professional" shop that did it.

Thanks, though...