What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Copper State Fly is postponed

maxmirot

Well Known Member
I got email stating the Copper State Fly In postponed until this Oct.

What's up with this fly in?

I am new to flying in AZ. I heard this used be a good event.
Now it bounces between air fields like pin pong ball.
Before this the web site did not have much info.
I have seen good events die this way.

Max

Copper State Fly-in........

I got email stating the Copper State Fly In postponed until this Oct. What's up with this fly in?
I am new to flying in AZ. I heard this used be a good event.
Now it bounces between air fields like pin pong ball.
Before this the web site did not have much info.
I have seen good events die this way. Max

Interestingly enough we were just talking about this Sunday. The consensus among the pilots I was talking with was that the event has been "taken over" by what could be called "special interest": ?the Warbird group?. Granted this is just us talking but seems like it has taken a turn for the worse. You are right: this is how events like this die. Sad to see. It was a good place to go when weather everywhere else was not as good. Others might know details.....:(

The Copperstate Fly-In joined forces with the Buckeye Air Fair some years back..... Buckeye Air Fair was the community/airshow part put on by the City of Buckeye, and Copperstate organization was the fly-in/vendor portion of the show. This year AOPA took over organizing with the Buckeye Air Fair and turned it into one of their regional fly-ins. Thus the Copperstate Fly-In organization was planning to move over to Falcon Field in late March, I believe.... So they disaffiliated with Buckeye/AOPA group.