What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

California To Florida And Back

Frankster13

I am considering doing a cross country trip from California to Florida. I am looking for suggestions and comments relating to feasibility and things to worry about. I am still in the early planning stages. I will be flying my RV-14A. I am an experienced pilot, IFR ATP rated. This would be during a winter weather window.

Last edited:
I am considering doing a cross country trip from California to Florida. I am looking for suggestions and comments relating to feasibility and things to worry about. I am still in the early planning stages. I will be flying my RV-14A.

What time of the year are you thinking about this trip? If it's in the summer, you'll need to think about thunderstorms. When not in thunderstorm season, imo, the trip is easier.

I'd recommend a route that roughly passes through: SoCal - SJN - DMN - AMA then around any restricted airspace that you might cross a you fly towards the Florida panhandle, and a right turn to go down the Florida coast to your destination.

More details would be helpful for better recommendations.

I am considering doing a cross country trip from California to Florida. I am looking for suggestions and comments relating to feasibility and things to worry about. I am still in the early planning stages. I will be flying my RV-14A.

Kinda difficult to respond without knowing your goals and experience level.

There are some beautiful and scenic routes. High density altitude operation and weather are likely the two major factors. Perhaps airspace is the third.

south route for sure

after doing this trip a couple of times in small planes, it is best not to try to plan exact stops. weather will likely change any hard plans you make. be flexible. start flying early in the morning and find a place to park by 3-4 pm so smaller airport facilities are still open.