What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Articles on Flying RVs by Richard VanGrunsven

RV8JD

Well Known Member
Last edited:
A lot of wisdom here. I have over 800 takeoff/landings in my RV-6A, and just re-reading the "Taking Off" article I picked up some good reminders of managing the transition from surface to air. Thanks for making these all available in one, easy to access, place!

Reactions: JGT
In the early RV4 era Van was still advocating self taught aerobatics. He moved away from that quite early. Aerobatic Epistle is an excellent reference against self taught aerobatics. When I was instructing aerobatics I had a trainee who had lost control of his RV6 "teaching himself aileron rolls". "Almost 300 m/h, almost hit the ground and some absurd G load".
As far as I can determine there has never been a catastrophic structural failure in an RV6. Not true of some of the other RV's.

In the early RV4 era Van was still advocating self taught aerobatics. He moved away from that quite early. Aerobatic Epistle is an excellent reference against self taught aerobatics. When I was instructing aerobatics I had a trainee who had lost control of his RV6 "teaching himself aileron rolls". "Almost 300 m/h, almost hit the ground and some absurd G load".
As far as I can determine there has never been a catastrophic structural failure in an RV6. Not true of some of the other RV's.