What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

2008 12 kit question

N8857a

I found a 2008 kit for sale, all 4 kits 80% complete no engine or avionics. Was being built as a LSA. My question is are there any problems with the older kits? I know the 12 kits have been updated. I’m fairly new to the 12 and LAS aircraft. My understanding is it must use the ULS engine, any issues buying a used engine, or do I have to buy it new through vans, along with the avionics to qualify as LSA? Do I have to complete it as a LSA? If not does it mater one way or the other. IE desirability or resale? Or should I just avoid this kit all together? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I found a 2008 kit for sale, all 4 kits 80% complete no engine or avionics. Was being built as a LSA. My question is are there any problems with the older kits? I know the 12 kits have been updated. I’m fairly new to the 12 and LAS aircraft. My understanding is it must use the ULS engine, any issues buying a used engine, or do I have to buy it new through vans, along with the avionics to qualify as LSA? Do I have to complete it as a LSA? If not does it mater one way or the other. IE desirability or resale? Or should I just avoid this kit all together? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Hey Kevin,