Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > Fiberglass
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-26-2020, 06:16 PM

Default first fiberglass attempt - lower empennage fairings

Since I just took the Sportair Workshop for RV fiberglass, I thought I'd practice some before I get to the canopy so I made some lower fairings. This is my first attempt at making anyting on my own. (my wife is starting to get plenty of ideas though!)

I need to trim it to have a nicer line in the lower left corner, but it fits really well otherwise. No idea how I attach it though. There's only room for 1 platenut on the left and so it would need a few on the underside of the HS to hold it. Any other ideas?

Love to hear thoughts from some of the fiberglass experienced.

Old 03-26-2020, 06:25 PM

Click-bond nutplates from The Flight Shop Inc.
RV-10 N104BS (Sold)
2021 VAF donation cheerfully submitted!
Old 03-26-2020, 07:00 PM

Default Probably know this already but . . . .

Unsolicited recommendation: You need to sand the contact areas (inside) of the upper fairing to allow it to mate to the surface better. Since the gray side is inside a mold, the lumpy side contacts the aluminum. Sanding will allow it to fit much much better. It is common for such molded glass parts.

On the topic: The plans remove some longeron rivets and install screws to hold the standard fairing under the HS.

Nice work, I just did this to my flying 7 before paint for a better overall fit.

RV-7

Last edited by BillL : 03-26-2020 at 07:04 PM.
Old 03-26-2020, 07:06 PM

Thanks, I was thinking about clickbond too.

Bill, thanks. I've not done anything to the upper except cleco it in but have been wondering how I get that to lay flat where it's not.