-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Old 07-12-2021, 04:21 AM

Default How hard is Engine Installation really?

I'm building my first plane (RV14A) and I have very little engine experience. I managed to keep my lawnmower running and I've read Mike Busch's series of books. That's about all.

I just watched Flight Chops latest build vlog (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_Xu9NvXkto) where they get the engine installed and tested. Seems pretty complex.

I'm wondering how much of that is documented in the instructions and how much is just experience from guys who know their way around these things?

Also, I'm building fairly remotely and don't have a EAA chapter or any home builders nearby.
Old 07-12-2021, 04:39 AM

Not complex at all. Maybe a little cryptic for those who have never done it before....

Just four bolts attaching the engine to the mount. (Definitely need an engine hoist and a second person would be helpful but I installed mine by myself.)

One cable each for throttle, mixture, propeller governor (optional), and one for alternate air (highly recommended). Additionally, make sure you have a ground cable to an engine bolt (I recommend one of the bolts on the oil pan).

Fuel connections are mapped out in the plans and electrical connections to starter and alternator are fairly straightforward.

While it's useful to consider the project as a whole try not to get bogged down in "everything" you have to do. Concentrate on JUST the next step. Keep pushing forward.

Good luck!
Frederic.magare "at" gmail.com
RV-9A Finishing
Old 07-12-2021, 04:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by FredMagare View Post
Not complex at all. Maybe a little cryptic for those who have never done it before....

Just four bolts attaching the engine to the mount. (Definitely need an engine hoist and a second person would be helpful but I installed mine by myself.)