What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Balance Control Surfaces

edclee

Well Known Member
Patron
I am making a new rudder and elevator for my 9A and since I did not make the aircraft originally, I have no experience with the balancing procedure. I see nothing in the plans regarding this other than simply mount the provided balance weight and go with it.

When I built my two Sonexes the plans were specific about balancing the surfaces and I did. From my experience over the years, balance needed to be checked even after painting. I did some research of past posts on this and consensus is that it is not necessary. Greg Hughes even responded to one post saying that it was not necessary just mount the weight per plans and Bob's Your Uncle. Right now I have the rudder hanging horizontally from the Hiem Joints and it is definitely heavier by a bunch at the trailing edge.

Can anyone provide more light on this subject? Any Aeronautical Design Engineers out there? :confused:

I am making a new rudder and elevator for my 9A and since I did not make the aircraft originally, I have no experience with the balancing procedure. I see nothing in the plans regarding this other than simply mount the provided balance weight and go with it.

SNIP.

This is exactly what you want to do. Years ago Van’s educated me on my question about there not be enough weight. I was told, in clear terms, static balance is not the objective.

Stay with the plans.

Carl

This is exactly what you want to do. Years ago Van’s educated me on my question about there not be enough weight. I was told, in clear terms, static balance is not the objective.

Stay with the plans.

Carl

Thanks for the response. I had come to that conclusion...I just wanted to be sure.
Ed

Greg Hughes even responded to one post saying that it was not necessary just mount the weight per plans and Bob's Your Uncle.