What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

What do You Want in An Engine

dbuds2

Well Known Member
I'm researching what alternative engine qualities, performance, and cost the average RV builder (or ~200 HP experimental builder) would require to switch from the standard Lycoming. I am an RV builder, RV8, and an engineer at a major aerospace jet and rocket engine manufacture. I am very disappointed at the cost of powerplants available. I have a passion to do for the experimental engine business what Van's (and all the other successful kit companies) has done for the experimental plane business.

What would it take in cost, weight, performance, ease of installation, completeness of package, technology, economy, reliability, customer support, etc, to make you and most everyone else switch?

I'm putting together a team of designers and analytical engineers to solve this problem if the market demand is there.

PLease let me know what you want.

The Sky!

While the question what do you want, is as old as Santa, the proper questions are what will the market bear in the way of R & D time, does a developer have sufficient financial resoureces to sustain the R & D effort to market and can a reliable, cost effective engine be delivered that can be repaired at any local airport in the world, by a local mechanic, in a reasonable period of time? Past attempts have proven that the cost of purchase is not necessarily the same final cost of ownership. Of all of the alternitive engines in the market, only two, Egg and Rotax, enjoy an install base the hundreds.

While I agree with your premise that engines are too expensive, the cost of ownership of a lycontinental is often, if not always, less expensive than the installation R & D ownership of an alternitive engine.

FFT: What is the actual production cost of a 4 banger lycontinental? I'll bet the profit margin will not beat the S & P 500.

I like the idea.