What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Check ALL of your gauges!

MaxAirSpd

I'm New Here
I?m not much of a writer but I?ll give it a shot.

I'm a 44 year old student pilot/RV-8A wannabe, currently at about 13 hours into my Private Pilot course. The other day I went out solo in a C172, departing from Honolulu International and flying about 15 miles west to Kalealoa (formerly NAS Barbers Point) for a few touch and goes. I did 2 landings and everything went uneventfully. After my second landing I called tower that I was departing the pattern and started climbing out to head back into the Honolulu Class B airspace. As I was climbing out I noticed that my Turn Coordinator now had an off flag. I checked the breakers and since they were all in I just thought to myself "Hmmm...well I don't need no stinkin turn coordinator". Off on my merry (ignorant) way I went. I contacted Honolulu Approach, received my clearance and squawk. Got handed off to Tower and received my landing clearance and shot a nice approach and landing. Tower instructed for me to exit 4L at Echo and cross 4R. After clearing 4R I stopped, switched to Ground and called for Taxi clearance to the parking. Nothing. That?s strange. Check Freq, yup, that?s right. Call again. Nada. Now that is strange. About this time (and bear in mind I?ve been on the ground all of about 4 minutes) the radios started flashing. Loosing power, coming back, going off. I just sat there wondering what the heck was going on. Finally after about 3 or 4 cycles everything just went dead. Complete electrical failure. I probably sat there for 3 hours (3 or 4 minutes in real world time) looking forlornly at my parking that was all of 100 feet away from me trying to figure out what the heck I was going to do.. Not seeing any other course of action I very carefully made sure I was clear and proceeded to taxi over to parking. After shutting down the aircraft I grabb