What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

The madness has struck another...

avaviat

I just received my emp kit... like most, I've never built a plane before but I'm already having a blast and I haven't even finished inventorying the kit yet. :D This is the world's best jig saw puzzle!

Someday it is going to be an 8A, FP prop and ~180HP engine, ground adjustable pedals, eletric trims (and flaps) on the stick, and I'm of two minds on rear pedals...I'd like them in theory but I'm not sure they'll be worth the cost ($$, weight, and build time). I have plenty of time to dither about those details though.

I do have a process question about building this beast. I have AKZO primer and am going to go through the whole MEK/Metal Prep/Alodine/AKZO cycle on the parts I prime. I did this on the "Study Project" and decided I really didn't like the smell of most of the chemicals, so I'd like to prep everything and do all of the priming in one pass. OK, it wasn't only the smell, but you get the idea. Any views on the best way to do this? Or is it even a worthwhile approach?

Have fun,
Jon

Priming in one pass

You can do this on the tail kit, no problem. It starts to be more difficult with other parts of the kit, though. You will get blocked until you install a small part, which of course means prep and prime.

You might be better off trying to come up with a system to prep and prime a smaller number of parts efficiently. It will pay dividends in the future.

avaviat said:
I do have a process question about building this beast. I have AKZO primer and am going to go through the whole MEK/Metal Prep/Alodine/AKZO cycle on the parts I prime.

Jon,