What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Fiberglass Lessons Learned

Ironflight

VAF Moderator / Line Boy
Mentor
The past couple of weeks in the RV-8 factory have been devoted to fiberglass...the dust is everywhere, and I am looking forward to doing almost anything else! I've come to both love and hate it...I hate it because of the mess, and because I always seem on the edge of disaster; love it because it is pretty easy to fix disasters....or at least cover them up! Fortunately, most of the fiberglass work on the RV's won't make us fall out of the sky if it comes undone.

Since my canopy bow glass is curing for the night, I figured I'd jot down a few things I've learned so far - keep in mind I'm a novice and turn out serviceable (not show-quality) work! Thanks again to all the folks who have pictures on their web sites - I'd never get this ight if I had to rely on the drawings and instructions alone!

1) For sanding the large "acreage" areas on the cowl and skirt, I used an orbital sander with 60, 160, and 220 grit disks. The disks tend to load up quickly when sanding epoxy-only layers for pinhole filling, but you can scrape them clean with a razor blade a couple times, then throw them away and use a fresh one. I bought a "job box" of each grit, about $10 a box at Home Depot, and won't use them all. Luxury is a fresh sanding disk!

2) I used four coats of epoxy, each thinned 50/50 with acetone for pinhole filling. After the fourth coat, I shot a coat of sandable rpimer, and the parts look really nice or at least good enough for a paint shop to turn them into something nice!