What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Wing stub spar, dimple question

Paul the Overlord

Well Known Member
Hi,

I'm ready to rivet the skins on the wings now. I got my 120 degree countersink for the stub spar (to "presumably" make room for dimples). In looking ahead I see only two places that are dimpled (Fig 1, page 17-02). Then, on the next page we are supposed to pull the CS-4-4 in those holes without any dimpling!! Seems odd to me, does the skin just dimple itself when I pull the rivet, or am I missing something? Any other wing skinning tips would be greatly appreciated!!

I'm not working on the wing yet, but that does not seem right at all. Better re-read a couple of pages.

On 14-02 you countersink all the holes in the stub spar. The w-1201L skin is already dimpeled for most of the holes. You are just adding a couple more. I spent this afternoon clecoing this exact part.

There are actually 3 places you dimple!

I just remembered a post from a while back. The plans say dimple 2 places, but it seems that it's 3 dimples. Here is an excerpt from Jerry G's blog: