What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

wing spar web - I need some opinions

HayesRV7

I'm New Here
First I want to thank Doug for building this wonderful resource and all the members of these forums for the advice I have received while lurking.

Now that I am an official builder, I need some help. (and probably a little confidence boost:confused:) We are working on the wings for our RV 7 and ran into an issue while riveting the leading edge ribs to the spar over the weekend. This turned out to be a challenge for us. In addition to not being able to really see well inside the leading edge to buck the rivets, getting the rivet gun set on the head of the rivet perfectly correct, due to the main ribs being in the way, seemed to be next to impossible. I have a few concerns I needed opinions on before moving on with riveting the leading edge skins to the spar.

1) The way I understand it, one should always try to put the manufactured head of the rivet on the same side as the thinner of the two materials being riveted. As I understand this is to help minimize “scalloping” or “pillowing” between the bucket rivets. This is not possible when riveting the leading edge ribs to the spar – the manufactured head goes on the spar side of the joint – the thicker of the two materials. As we riveted the thinner material of the leading edge ribs “pillowed” between rivets and the outboard edge of the rib flange lifted off the surface of the spar. This “lifting” appears to have only occurred at the edge of the flange. The middle of the flange where the rivets are installed appears to be tight against the main spar. How concerned with this do I need to be?