What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Which proseal to order for empennage?

digidocs

Well Known Member
I'm just getting started on my -10 empennage and am wondering which proseal to buy from Vans. They seem to have three options:

- quart of 2 hour for $40
- 3.5 oz cartridge of 1/2 hour for $17
- 1 oz of 1/2 hour for $10

Any other basic items I should order at the same time?

Thanks!

I'm just getting started on my -10 empennage and am wondering which proseal to buy from Vans. They seem to have three options:

- quart of 2 hour for $40
- 3.5 oz cartridge of 1/2 hour for $17
- 1 oz of 1/2 hour for $10

Any other basic items I should order at the same time?

Thanks!

I would probably just get the 3.5 oz. it's better to have too much, than not enough. The fuel tanks are too far down the road to buy in quart quantities right now. It doesn't have a long shelf life.

The only options I have in my tail are Cleaveland static ports and Avery rudder fairings for the rudder cables.

There are also several third parties that sell cnc manufactured parts to replace some of the ones in the kit. The only one I would suggest is the replacement of the welded nut for the elevator trim cables. Sorry, I don't have the part number handy. There several other parts available, but they just save you time with not having to fabricate them.

A small supply of "oops" rivets to have on hand is probably a good idea too. You never know when you may need them. Murphy's law dictates that you'll only need them if you don't have any.

Bob

The B 1/2 sets pretty quick and you have to mix the whole thing at once, I would recommend the quart of B2, more time to work and you'll have plenty of uses for it while building.