What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

What's in an engine kit ?

case

I'm New Here
Hi All,

I'm a newbie to the world of RV's and I'm looking seriously at building an RV-12. I live in Australia and down here we can register an RV-12 as experimental LSA even if we don't get the complete kits from Van's. Obviously I will be buying the basic aircraft kits but I have choices when it comes to engine and avionics.

The downside to buying an RV in Australia is the cost of freight from the US and also the exchange rate. Although the latter is not too bad at the moment it all adds to the cost. In an effort to cut down the cost a little I was wondering if someone could tell me what's in the engine kit. Is there a detailed list of contents somewhere ? I've looked around the Vans site but can't find much.

I have the price of the Rotax supplied here in Australia but I need to know if I'm comparing apples with apples.

Any help would be most appreciated.

Cheers

Case

engine kit contents

Case:

The engine kit basically includes most everything firewall forward. So, in addition to what comes with the Rotax itself, the engine kit also includes the battery, firewall foward wiring harness, engine mount and mounting accessories, cooling shroud for the engine, fiberglass duct work for both the oil cooler and water cooler (fiberglass is shaped to fit the cowling), propeller, spinner, all hoses, exhaust system, oil cooler, water cooler, all engine control cables, cabin heat kit, all hardware, etc, etc. Pretty much everything firewall forward except the cowling itself.