What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

What to do next???

Jimzim

Well Known Member
As a first time builder, I have a dilemma and could sure use you input...I have the slowbuild 7 with empennage done and mounted on fuse. The fuse is done up through installing rudder pedals and brake lines. My wings are mostly one and temporarily mounted with bottom skins still off. My question is this: should I next rivet up the fwd fuselage, or install the engine mount and gear, or start the wiring harness (van's harness) or start on canopy or ??? Not sure what makes the most sense to tackle next? I'm anxious to get it off the sawhorse and onto gear! Any advice very much appreciated! (I have most items mounted to the firewall, but haven't riveted closed the recess cover) Thanks, Jim

Speaking from my own experience, don't rush getting the fuse on the gear. It is no fun climbing a ladder to get inside to do the wiring and lots of other tasks.

My answer is to finish installing and rigging your control systems. Then, while the ailerons and flaps are attached and rigged, install the wing tips. Finally, remove the wings, finish skinning them, and set them aside.

Having the wings in the way while you're working on systems, the cowl, and the canopy is a hassle and seemingly triples the length of every trip around the airplane for a tool, a part, or to look at the plans.

Once you're at that point, install the engine mount (don't mount the gear), run as many wires as possible, install the top skin, then (temperatures permitting) build the canopy. If it is too cold to install the canopy, you can hang the engine, install the accessories, run wires, and install the cowl/baffles. Once you're done with that, it is canopy time...