What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Vortex Generators

ALMARTON

Well Known Member
Hi folks!

Does anyone use or have knowledge/experience on Vortex Generators with RV's?

Those from the link are said to lower the stall speed up to 9mph!!

http://www.stolspeed.com/

I am considering using it, but have some doubts/questions;

- Would it affect cruise speed?:confused:
- Is it as good as they say? :)

Does anyone have opinion based on experience on that?

Thanks in advance;:cool:

Alexandre "neck" Marton
(Brazil)

Do a "search"..

This has been discussed ad nauseum on here.

My take...you only "ugly-up" the airplane, go slower and the rag gets hung up when you wash her:)

Best,

Alesandre:

I'm new to the RV world but I did notice a Florida builder who was exhibiting RV-9 aircraft at the recent Sebring LSA Expo who uses these on his 9's. He was building & selling 9's as LSA's (a shady fact that's a topic in itself...) and he claimed the VG's enabled the aircraft to stall at a speed low enough to meet the LSA rule. So perhaps that is one consequence of using them.

Jack

Hello Pierre and Jack!

Pierre you said it had been discussed here before, could you send me a link for the posts ?

Jack it would be nice to have a lower stall if it does not affect cruise and a bonus would be having the aircraft in the LSA category (but it is already that way here in Brazil !!! Thanks god and the Military, but now that we have a civil agency instead called ANAC that is the like of your's FAA they are trying to screw that freedom of us.... lets see...)

By now I am skeptic and tend go with Pierre idea that it sounds to good to be true.

Anyone having more info (experience) on that would be most grateful.

Regards

don't bother

I had them on my RV7. Little cruise speed decrease (maybe 2 kts). When I removed them I measured the stall speed as 1 kt faster.

Waste of time on a hershey bar wing.