What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Vert Stab Rivet Question (Careful I'm a novice)

mkmuch

Guys -

I am about to attach the vert stab skin to the structure - I understand what I am supposed to do but struggle with the best way to accomplish the task. The instructions say to leave the bottom spars out (done) and rivet the middle / forward spar first - (understood)?

How does one get their big fat hand up there - hold the bucking bar and hit it with the rivet gun and not dance the gun down the skin?

My only assumption is this is one of those operations best performed by two people - correct?

Or is there a better way?

Thx.:confused:

Last edited:
I could do it much better now but you answered your own question. Two will make it much easier, make sure you are using a rivet set with some sort of slip resistance like a rubber or plastic edge to make sure it stays in place. Set your air pressure around 38 to 42 psi. Most -10's have a less than perfect rivet job on the VS, actually a lot of the RV's do as does mine. Minor dings can be filled with filler prior to paint. FWIW the bucking bar will cause a ding as much as the gun. Practice as much as you dare prior to working on the actual airframe.

I did a lot of mine by myself, with good success. I did have help with the nose ribs, which were the most difficult to get too, and get the skin and rib to stay tight.

The rubber gripper on the rivet set, was a big help at this stage.

build a cradle

If I was to build mine again by myself I would build a cradle like you do with the horizontal stabilizer, but it can be done by yourself (and the dings you make.. and you will make them.. are never as bad as they look)

Consider the VS the real practice kit and by the time you are finished with the build you will realize the dings you made are nothing.

Thanks Guys...

I guess I just need the push - I'll go jump now!