What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Transition Training in SoCal?

chrisi456

My RV-8 is nearing completion, I'll have 25 hours of taildragger time but need transition training in a RV taildragger. I live in San Diego, any ideas?

Chris

Not SoCal, sorry.

I did transition training with Mike Seagar in Oregon. Flew the RV7 TD twice per day, three days in a row. Got just over ten hours along with a TD endorsement.

I've never had instruction from someone like Mike. He is a remarkable instructor. The most patient I've seen. He's a very trusting soul. Rarely did he touch the controls. He is a really good communicator.

Got my RV8 three months later and felt prepared. Flew it home to California from Arizona.

I'm a low time newbie. Got my ticket May 2014.

Good Luck. Congradulations on your 8. They're amazing airplanes.

Charlie

KSEE transition trainer

Reuven ("roo-VANE") Silverman is a good trainer; after transition with him, my first flight was a non-event.

He's based at KSEE, and while his LODA is for his RV7A, he's pretty resourceful; suggest you give him a shout ([email protected]).

congrats!

Thanks, I was hoping to get tail dragger training, I thought it would be more useful and seems to be required for insurance.

I just went through the same search for a cfi in san diego to get some transition into my RV4. Good thing you have an 8 because nobody can do it in a 4. I ended up biting the bullet and just flying the thing, and it is easier to fly than any taildragger I have flown prior. Anyway, aside from the names mentioned, I know another guy at kmyf with an rv7 who would probably do it. If you are interested then give me your email and I will give it to him because I don't want to post peoples personal information.