What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Tools

rv12newbie

I'm New Here
Just ordered the FASTENERS and EMPENNAGE/TAIL CONE kits. While I have a standard equipped home shop, this is my first attempt at ever building a plane; something I never thought I would ever do until a couple months back. Should I buy the AC SPRUCE $2,100+ RV-12 TOOL KIT, which seems to contain lots of what I do not own? Thanks in advance for any advice - and this is probably the first of a host of "dumb" questions I will have in the coming days/weeks/months/year(s)

My $0.02.

Most of the well-known aircraft supply stores have tool packages, and you'll probably be fine with any one of them. However, I would look more for packages that contain individual tools that you (or your builder friends) might prefer, such as a pneumatic squeezer/puller, DRDT2 dimpler, brand name drill motor, etc. Then let those be your guide (i.e. if the package includes these or not). You will most certainly add on to your package with other aircraft-specific tools. Personally, I would use the intial purchase opportunity to buy more clecos. I have never met a builder who didn't end up buying more clecos. Congrats on your decision to build!

You don't need to go hog wild on tools for the rv12.